<< Back to all Blogs
Login or Create your own free blog
Layout:
Home > This and That
 

This and That

January 8th, 2013 at 07:15 am

I've done a $2 load of laundry four days in a row. I'm not quite sure why it piled up so much -- I guess I let it go while I was sick -- and then I had to wash the tree skirt and and linens needed changing. I hope I am done with it for a while.

I've been doing much better on cooking and freezing food for lunches. Right now the freezer is stocked with cream of carrot-cauliflower soup, chicken noodles soup, broccoli cheddar quiche, turkey broccoli casserole, and green pepper beef. I brought chicken salad for lunch today, and tonight I'll have an egg fajita. I have most of the makings for tortilla pizzas -- forgot to buy marinara sauce on Saturday, but I will remedy that this weekend. I have lots of English muffins in the freezer, too.

I have stuck with myfitnesspal for a week now, and I have come in under goal every day. The extra walking I do helps.

I just got my new gas bill and it was only $14! I love having "free" radiator heat.

I was playing around with my post-retirement budget. I have a projected "everything else" category -- that's the money left over after bill-paying, grocery shopping, laundry, savings etc. It's only about $100. Just looking at my spending this month, I'm already up to $62 in the EE category. I don't see any room to cut in other places, but at this point so much is unknown. For instance, I don't know what I will pay in medical premiums (supplemental to Medicare) once I retire, so I just estimated $250. I don't know if I will continue to have a car, or if I will walk and use public transportation. If so, I won't have to worry about car insurance, but of course there will be fares to consider.

And it looks like I am three years away from retirement, despite what my sidebar says! I could retire on my ex-husband's benefit in 2015, but it is just not quite enough to make ends meet. If I wait until I am 66 and retire on my own benefits, I will at least have enough to have a shot at it. The only thing is, I think that if I retire on his benefits, I can switch to my benefits at age 70. I need to talk to someone who knows about this stuff.

I do know I can't continue at this job until I am 70. I would go nuts.

7 Responses to “This and That”

  1. Petunia 100 Says:

    What about a part-time job, something that would be fun? An extra $200 - $300 per month would cover those miscellaneous expenses and give you some "fun" money too.

  2. CB in the City Says:

    A part-time job would be great! I just don't know that I can count on getting one in this economy.

  3. SecretarySaving Says:

    Great job on food planning and logging your food intake.

  4. FrugalTexan75 Says:

    Do you have an Aldi's or Costco nearby, or perhaps Starbucks? They might be good places to have something part-time and pay okay.

  5. CB in the City Says:

    I've actually thought more in terms of the library -- I have an MLS -- or one of the many nonprofit agencies, who might need someone part-time in development. I know I DON'T want one of those part-time jobs that turn into a full-time job with part-time pay. I've seen that happen!

  6. FrugalTexan75 Says:

    That would be the problem with most of the part-time jobs in any service industry - a pt library job would depend on what it was - school library, it wouldn't be part-time no matter what the job description, not sure about a public library though - unless you were a page or something (but probably with an MLS wouldn't even be looked at)

  7. CB in the City Says:

    Yeah, I might actually have to hide my MLS to work in a library!

Leave a Reply

(Note: If you were logged in, we could automatically fill in these fields for you.)
*
Will not be published.
   

* Please spell out the number 4.  [ Why? ]

vB Code: You can use these tags: [b] [i] [u] [url] [email]